Miscellany -11/19/16

Bicycled 8 miles today and got back home before the weather began to change.  Oddly enough, despite my current health issues, I think I’m in the best overall shape I’ve been in for years.  Losing 30 pounds can do that for you.

I find that it’s harder to write when I’m not angry about something.  Fortunately, I suppose, the cast of Hamilton has managed to tick me off royally.  I double-dog guarantee you that if any of the cast members actually read a biography of Hamilton (such as Ron Chernow’s) the only thing they would actually like about the man was that he was a philanderer.  So much for my hopes that this play might slip some wisdom sub rosa to the audience about the Founding Fathers and the beliefs on which this country was founded.  Obviously, the cast both learned nothing and forgot nothing.  They’re all probably cheering when Burr shoots Hamilton.

That’s some money that I’ll keep in my pocket when the touring company goes around.

(To be fair, I’ve never gone to a professional Broadway-type musical in my life, but I might have made an exception for Hamilton.  Oddly enough, I thought about making an exception for Spamalot this week as well, but then read the synopsis and decided that I didn’t need to support the changes in the Lancelot role vis-a-vis Holy Grail and kept that money in my pocket as well.)

Leave a Reply

